Coop’s top ten (Mid way through the year) favorite movies of the year

top ten

What are my top ten favorite movies of the year so far?

Next Thursday, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes will be finally out in theaters. It’s officially July which means the year is half way over. Time flies by so quickly.  I decided to make a top ten list of my favorite films of the year so far.

I rank this list by several categories: My overall enjoyment of the film, the acting, storytelling, themes and tone of the film, and if I would happily buy it on DVD if I had the money.

Honorable mention: The Fault in Our Stars

August Waters played Ansel Elgot  Hazel Grace Lannicaster played Shailene Woodley

The Fault in Our Stars is a beautifully crafted film that made me cry. The film had excellent acting, themes, storytelling, and while I would probably buy it on DVD. The other ten films on my listed gave me more enjoyment then this movie. However, let it be know in my opinion, The Fault in Our Stars is a damn good movie.  It missed the cut ever so slightly.

10: 22 Jump Street

22 Jump Street starting Johan Hill Channing Tatum.  Directed by Phil Lord & Chris Miller

22 Jump Street starting Johan Hill Channing Tatum.
Directed by Phil Lord & Chris Miller

22 Jump Street is a sequel that is better than its predecessor.  Channing Tatum and Johan Hill do a wonderful job with being hilarious.  Phil Lord and Chris Miller are on a roll with comedy because Ghostbusters 3 is next on their plate.  The story is the same as the 21st Jump Street. It is not of a negative of the film. I saw it again last night and realized how much every actor takes at shots at themselves in the film with witty dialogue.  I would buy this movie on blue ray and force my mom to watch it.  Also if you have doubts about Channing Tatum as Gambit then watch the chase sequence at the end of this movie. He kicks major ass.

9. The Lego Movie

Lego Movie starting Chris Pratt and Will Ferrell.  Directed by Phil Lord & Chris Miller

Lego Movie starting Chris Pratt and Will Ferrell.
Directed by Phil Lord & Chris Miller

I saw this movie 3 times in theaters. It was every bit as funny as each time.  The story was great and the theme song gets suck in your head. It’s out on blue ray, and I don’t have it yet. I will get it eventually.  Overall, the ensemble cast does such a great job with their voice work that it will make you hit on the floor laughing constantly. The reason its ahead of 22 Jump Street because the theme of the movie. It is about a father-son dynamic and how adults lose their ability to imagine worlds like children.  It also gave me a tear in my eye.

8. Neighbors

starting Seth Rogen and Zac Efron

Seth Rogen and Zac Efron

Neighbors is my favorite studio comedy of the year. I have two independent comedies above it.  The reason why I love Neighbors more than the Lego Movie because of two reasons. First this movie is all about growing up and becoming an adult after college. Dave Franco’s character gets this lesson in life.  Secondly, Rose Byrne plays the wife and unlike most mainstream comedies her character is so important in a male led film. She drives the action and comedy. I will gladly buy this on DVD. I would love everybody’s acting in it. The story was great. My favorite part of the film is the last 15 minutes with the fireworks.

7. Locke

Locke

Locke is Tom Hardy’s one man trick and pony show.  His face is only one that graces the screen while all other characters call him through a hands free phone. Tom Hardy gave an acting performance that should him get nominated for best actor. Through his facial expressions we could see: pain, anguish, frustration, and other negative emotions. He also displayed a collective coolness and calming presence that gave you the sense that everything will be OK feeling in the theater. The film was written and directed by Steven Knight (who is now writing the script for World War Z 2).  Locke’s theme is that one bad night can change your life either for good or for worse.  I have a friend in Texas who would love this film and it will go into my blue ray collection.

6. The Grand Budapest Hotel

Grand Budapest Hotel characters

Grand Budapest Hotel characters

I loved the Grand Budapest Hotel. It’s a dark and witty comedy. The ensemble cast is perfect, and my mom and I watched it again on Tuesday Night.  There are several reasons why I love this movie so much. First, Ralph Fiennes made me laugh in everytime he spoke that he delivered. He’s such a centric actor. Two, Adrian Brody and William Defoe play two perfect villains.  Their characters are spectacular in the film and each actor delivers a sadistic performance. Finally, this film could win or be nominated for best cinematography and best picture of the year.  I saw this film twice in theaters. It is still as funny as the first time; however, the reason why it doesn’t come at number 5 on the list because….

5. Noah

Starring Russell Crowe

Starring Russell Crowe

because given the choice between getting the DVD between Noah or Grand Budapest Hotel; I would choose Noah.  The film stars Russell Crowe, Logan Lerman, Jennifer Connelly, Emma Watson, Anthony Hopkins, and Ray Winstone.  The story telling, the acting, the themes, the directing, and spectacular visuals made this film so great.  Darren Aronofsky did a wonderful job taking this biblical bland story and adding multiple layers too its basic story.  Honesty, it is a great movie because my best friend in Texas loved it. She is very religious and admitted that they played with some facts. However, the overall film is spectacular to her.  She and I both agree that this film is a cinematic representation on how much man made technology is destroying our planet. I suggest buying Noah either on DVD or Redboxing it for the night.

4. Captain America 2: The Winter Solider

Captain America 2: the Winter Solider by Marvel  Director by Joe and Anthony Russo Starting Chris Evans

Captain America 2: the Winter Solider by Marvel
Director by Joe and Anthony Russo
Starting Chris Evans

So if you would have asked me in April if Captain America would have be my favorite movie in July, my answer would be hell yea! However, three other movies next on my list were just better in my opinion and pleasant surprises.  Listen, Marvel made a Jason Bourne type superhero movie with espionage and twist and turns that made you keep guessing throughout the movie. The superhero flick was not only shot beautifully but the fight choreography was spectacular (Michael Bay needs to take notice). I loved everything about Captain America 2. It is better than the Avengers. It really is Marvel’s studios best film. Falcon was a welcome addition and showed that one day we can have a Robin in a Batman movie. I will watch this blue ray religiously when it comes out in September.

3. Chef

CHEF_OS

Jon Favreau wrote, starred in, and directed Chef.  Chef is about Carl Casper’s fall from grace from a famous kitchen chef in a well renown restaurant in LA to being fired after tweeting with a national renown food critic.  Here is the tweet for your amusement;

The movie is hilarious and every actor did a great job. It would be my favorite film of the year so far if I didn’t like the next two films so much more. Favreau crafted a beautiful story that deals with themes of redemption, reinvention of a person’s life, and father son relationships. The cast includes Sofía Vergara, John Leguizamo, Scarlett Johansson, Oliver Platt, Bobby Cannavale, Dustin Hoffman, and Robert Downey, Jr. Emjay  Anthony plays Percy the son and made me feel emotionally connected to a little kid. The music in the film will have you dancing since it is Latina. I don’t know when the film comes out on Blue-ray or DVD, but I will buy and watch twice in a 24 hour period.

2. X-Men: Days of Future Past

The poster for X-Men Days of Future Past

The poster for X-Men Days of Future Past

What can’t you love about this Superhero movie? Yes, this story is a big nod to the fans, and they deserve it. Singer and Kinberg realized the shit that X-Men fans sat through with Wolverine: Origins and X-Men 3. They corrected the mistakes and handed the franchise to a younger talented cast that will be making new X-Men films for years to come. I also loved Xavier’s character development. He and Mystique are the integral part of the story.  However, the show stealer was Quicksilver. Quicksilver was brilliant.and so much fun. Youtube the Quicksilver scene from X-Men: Days of Future Past, and you will laugh your ass off.  I can’t wait for X-Men to come out on DVD. The theme of this movie is learning to how grow into a better man after you fall from grace.

1: Edge of Tomorrow

Edge of Tomorrow directed by Doug Liman Starts Tom Cruise and Emily Blunt

Edge of Tomorrow directed by Doug Liman
Starts Tom Cruise and Emily Blunt

I seen this film twice in theaters and came out smiling and wowed both times. I did get a little bored for a few minutes in X-Men and Captain America 2.  However,  I never got bored watching Edge of Tomorrow. I felt the cause of this was: the action, the editing, the storytelling, the visuals,  the acting, the music, and the directing. It looked like it was going to suck from the trailers. This movie blew me away. I can’t wait to own this sucker on DVD. I would make my friends sit down and watch it. Edge of Tomorrow’s theme is about how one man can be weak and timid then find encourage to become a hero. I noticed some visual miscues with X-Men: Days of Future Past also. Edge of Tomorrow is visually stunning and there are visual miscues that i saw.  The resets are edited in such a way that gives you the imitation of each moment is new.  Tom Cruise does a hell of acting job. Emily Blunt, omg, I knew she was good in Adjustment Bureau but she is so talented in this movie. You will walk out of the theater with a smile after seeing this movie.

Movies I can’t wait to see that coming out are coming out soon: Dawn of the Planet of the Apes (July 11th), Guardians of the Galaxy (August 1st), Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (Aug 8th), The Expendables (Aug 15th),  This Where I Leave You (Sept 19th), The Judge (Oct 10th), and Gone Girl (Oct 3rd)

What is your favorite movie of the year? Comment below and let me know

2 thoughts on “Coop’s top ten (Mid way through the year) favorite movies of the year

  1. No way “Noah” is that highly rated… I mean, I love Jennifer Connelly’s boobs as much as the next man, but come on. Religious stories rarely translate well to the silver screen, evidenced again in “Noah”.

    I am interested to hear your opinion on the upcoming movie “The November Man”. Connelly might have a rockin’ body, but Pierce Brosnan has the elegant swagger to back up the easy going look that has men across the world secretly crushing on him. Not to mention he knocks it out of the park when it comes to movie selection and performance.

    • I actually felt Noah was a really good movie. I felt the themes of the movie and the acting was superb. It is one that i would get on DVD when i start working again.

      However, November Man peaks my interests. Guardians of the Galaxy would be in my top 5. You’re right about Pierce. He is fantastic in anything he does. He was my favorite Bond until Craig stole the show.

Leave a Reply

